My first build - OOO kit from Blues Creek

Take us through building your guitar step by step. Post pictures and tell us what you're doing.
daviddrazen

My first build - OOO kit from Blues Creek

Post by daviddrazen »

Title says it all. I'm working on my first build, a OOO kit I picked up from John at Blues Creek while I was driving back from vacation.

I have some woodworking experience and I read everything I could before I settled on the kit, supplemented with help from John. It's a spruce top with redwood sides and back.

I picked up the kit in August of 2022 and I've been slowly working on it when I can. Part of it is finding free time, but the vast majority of that time has been me overthinking this and trying to understand exactly what I'm supposed to do. My goal is to finish the guitar before the 2 year mark and I figured that blogging about the project would be a great way to hold myself accountable to that goal and capture the process along the way.
daviddrazen

Re: My first build - OOO kit from Blues Creek

Post by daviddrazen »

Step 1 was to unpack everything and make sure I knew what I had.
IMG_5864.jpeg
Turns out I was missing the truss rod, but John shipped me a new one right away.

I pulled out my copy of the Bill Cory book on building a Martin Kit and started to figure out what my steps were. I put the sides into the mold and noticed that one of the sides wasn't fully seated against the mold at the bout.
IMG_6040.jpeg
IMG_6039.jpeg
I made a shooting board and used my jack plane to take some material off each edge until the offending side fit the mold better.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
daviddrazen

Post by daviddrazen »