First kit build - Martin dred

Take us through building your guitar step by step. Post pictures and tell us what you're doing.
rcplanefan

First kit build - Martin dred

Post by rcplanefan »

Hello forum members! Please let me introduce myself as a new builder here. Since I started playing guitar about 15 years ago, I've had a goal of being a builder. I retired about a year ago from a 28 year career as an engineer building things, so now seems like as good a time as any to get into this.

I've been pulling my shop together and still have a lot to acquire, but after a few phone calls with John, watching a number of his YouTube videos, and reading as much as I can, I took the plunge and ordered my first kit from him. I aspire to scratch build in the future, but this should be a good way to get my feet wet.

Anyway, I plan to blog as I go and I welcome any feedback or help you can give me here. I live in Cincinnati, so if any of you are close by I'd love to get together and learn from you as well.

Here is the Martin dreadnought kit laid out on my bench. I'm actually surprised how much is already done - rosettes installed, neck finished. It looks like a relatively easy start, though I'm sure the devil will be in the details.

Onward!
Last edited by rcplanefan on Sat Dec 16, 2023 7:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Diane Kauffmds

Re: First kit build - Martin dred

Post by Diane Kauffmds »

Hi. Where do you live in Cincinnati? We lived in North College Hill before moving to West Virginia
Diane Kauffmann
Country Roads Guitars
countryroadsguitars@gmail.com
rcplanefan

Post by rcplanefan »

I’m in Montgomery. No clue why my photo isn’t showing up.
jread

Post by jread »

I’ll look at the server in a bit to see if there is a problem with images. Thx for posting. New users need to have 2 posts approved by a moderator which I just did. Yours should go thru right away next time.
Diane Kauffmds

Post by Diane Kauffmds »