Next Step Recommendations

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
scamp

Next Step Recommendations

Post by scamp »

Built my first guitar from a kit and now planning my next guitar build.
I would like to challenge myself with this next build and take it up a notch as I enjoy the learning experience.
Hence, I was thinking of building something more from scratch vs a kit.

Thinking of buying a good 14 inch bandsaw and a good router which would help a lot it seems and I'm sure I could use these tools for many other wood projects etc. Not sure, however, I want to get into purchasing expensive drum sanders, side bending machines etc. at this point.

Given that, I think I could probably do a lot with some cheaper tool solutions like a simple free form bending iron ( to hand bend the sides ), a good plane for thicknessing the front/back/sides etc.

Given I'm still very new to this, I would appreciate any input, thoughts, recommendations about how to proceed to the next level. I'm a bit concerned that doing some of these tasks by hand without direct supervision by an expert may be too much. I'm asking for input on this forum as I'm sure many of you more experienced in this have faced these issues before.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Scamp
carld05

Re: Next Step Recommendations

Post by carld05 »

A good 14" bandsaw is great for all sorts of things, like building the bending machine and resawing too if its opening is tall enough. Since I came at this from cabinet making and construction I had lots of the basics already so I'll let others give their recommendations.
scamp

Post by scamp »

carld05 wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 6:18 pm A good 14" bandsaw is great for all sorts of things, like building the bending machine and resawing too if its opening is tall enough. Since I came at this from cabinet making and construction I had lots of the basics already so I'll let others give their recommendations.