Death by Dovetail

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
JohnFM

Death by Dovetail

Post by JohnFM »

I am a first time builder (Martin OOO kit) struggling with the dovetail joint....I did the neck preset per John's video and was happy with it....Angle/Center/Elevation were set along with sanding the full neck and body interface for a common plane....I continued to finish the body, complete the fretboard, install the thrust rod and glued on the fretboard.....I checked the neck fit and alignment in a dry fit and all was in alignment.....I glued on the neck and the resulting glued joint was out of elevation alignment....the gap over the saddle was 5/32 and there was a small gap at the top of the heal/body interface....somehow the joint didn't pinch properly at the top part of the heel ....when I glued the joint, I slightly clamped the fretboard extension before clamping the neck....I thought this might have hung-up the pinching of the joint....so I decided to remove the neck and try again... I steamed off the neck and carefully cleaned all surfaces...I couldn't see any obvious obstructions....again I did a dry fit and it was good....held my breath and carefully glued it again starting with clamping the neck this time and then the fretboard extension.....same result....so I have again removed the neck and am now pondering my next move....I'm playing around with paper shims but so far haven't found a solution...any advise?
Thanks
John
Diane Kauffmds

Re: Death by Dovetail

Post by Diane Kauffmds »

Can you please post photos? It helps a lot if we can see the problem.

Now, if I understand, you've glued the fretboard to the neck, then set the neck. The heel has pulled up a bit on you? Plus, you have a bit more of a gap between the saddle slot and straight edge than we like to see. These are actually the result of 2 separate problems. Both can be corrected.