Dip in Bridge Area

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
sjhouska

Dip in Bridge Area

Post by sjhouska »

Now that I have closed the body on my Martin 000 kit, it has been pointed out to me that there is a 1/16"(perhaps 3/32") side-to-side gap/dip in the center of the top where the bridge will be mounted. The gap is obvious when I span a metal ruler between the side rims but, curiously, there is no visible gap whatsoever when I simply lay my bridge down on the top. This is my first build and I am wondering what, if anything, I need to do to correct or compensate for the gap.

Two possible solutions have been suggested to me. Either change the angle of the neck when I am setting the neck in the dovetail joint, or glue a 1/16" spacer to the bottom of the bridge, or perhaps a little of both. But I am reluctant to pursue a solution given that there is no visible gap when I lay the bridge on the top and I have no experience (other than this build) in woodworking, I want to end up with a playable guitar with decent action.

Any and all input will be appreciated.

Gratefully,

Scot
MaineGeezer

Re: Dip in Bridge Area

Post by MaineGeezer »

Has the humidity in your shop changed significantly (gotten drier) between the time you glued the braces on and now? If so, the top may have shrunk in width, the braces won't shrink significantly in length, and it's quite possible to pull a convex radius into being a concave radius. The bridge plate might be enough to keep that area flat so your bridge sits on it okay.
You can try putting the box in a high humidity environment (put it in a sealed-up trash bag with a sponge) for a few days to see if it fixes itself.
Don't believe everything you know.
Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
When things are bad, try not to make them any worse, because it is quite likely they are bad enough already. - French Foreign Legion
Diane Kauffmds

Post by Diane Kauffmds »