Routing Top and Back Flush

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
scamp

Routing Top and Back Flush

Post by scamp »

Stupid question of the day.

Got the top and back glued on the guitar and happy with the outcome but now need to rout the extra top and back material flush with the sides.
Just purchased a Bosh Colt router to rout the binding.
I assume it makes sense to use this to rout the top and back flush.
I have no experience with a router so here is my question.

I purchased the Stewmac binding router bit for the binding and I guess I could use this with a flush bearing to rout the top and back flush..
This, however, doesn't seem correct given the large diameter of the bit and the large amount of material to be removed.
Seems like a narrower flush router bit would make more sense.
How best to do this?
Feedback welcome.
tippie53

Re: Routing Top and Back Flush

Post by tippie53 »

you will feel how it works take it slow but a flush bit is a flush bit. I use the ridig trimmer as it readily mounts to the binding machines ,
pay attention to the angle of attack of the cutter. you will do some climb and some rout cuts
a climb cut is working with the direction of the cutter
a rout cut is going against the cutter

the weak area is the upper bout across the back from the radius and the back angle .
John Hall
Blues Creek Guitars Inc
Authorized CF Martin Repair Center
president of Association of Stringed Instrument Artisans
http://www.bluescreekguitars.com
scamp

Post by scamp »

Thanks John

So it sounds like I can use the Stewmac binding router bit with a flush bearing to do the job.
I have a binding router jig similar to the True Channel jig so I can just do it slowly ( taking off a little at a time ) until it gets flush.
I was aware of the angle of attach issue with routing the back and top flush.
Basically the same routing direction recommendations as routing the bindings.

You mentioned the particularly weak area.