Tool search

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
musicman2000

Tool search

Post by musicman2000 »

image.jpg
Check out the attached pictures. I found a 3-in1 file, chisel, and rasp at Home Depot. 3 sizes for only 20 dollars. I'm about to start my first build and trying to save some money on tools. I'm a school teacher and a starving musician! Maybe I'll spring for the pro tools eventually, but do you think this is a good alternative?

Also, look at the picture of the router - also from Home Depot - 100 dollars. I am confused by some of the jargon such as "trim" router, or "laminate" router, or "small" router. Are these terms one and the same? Do you think the router is a good purchase?

Tom
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B. Howard

Re: Tool search

Post by B. Howard »

Those chisels do not work very well as chisels or rasps, I have seen others try to use them.
You never know what you are capable of until you actually try....

Brian Howard
www.brianhowardguitars.com
Taylor authorized service
Custom finishing services

Brian howard's guitar building & repair blog
http://www.brianhowardguitars.com
tippie53

Post by tippie53 »

these are not for guitar work. Fine for rough work not finish.
John Hall
Blues Creek Guitars Inc
Authorized CF Martin Repair Center
president of Association of Stringed Instrument Artisans
http://www.bluescreekguitars.com
musicman2000

Post by musicman2000 »

Thank you. Anything on the router?

Tom

Post by   »

If it's a laminate trimmer you're after, which is typically used for bindings on a guitar, I'd say Ridgid 2401 or the variable speed Bosch Colt.
John Hall's binding jig is often paired with the Ridgid.
The members here are a small sampling. There are many other recommendations out there which can be found by doing a Google search.
Those other opinions should be considered when making your buying decision.

-tommy
ruby@magpage.com