Esopus Creek classical guitar, #1!

Post Photos and Link Us to Your Guitars!
giametti

Esopus Creek classical guitar, #1!

Post by giametti »

This is Esopus Creek #1. Esopus Creek is a river in the Catskill mountains where I spent a lot of time over the years. So it's not "quite" finished, but I had to string it up and see if it sounded decent, and played decent. Overall, (warts and all) I'm very pleased.
I used the Hauser 1937 Segovia guitar plans from GenOne. (In the edge of the first picture is my only other guitar that I bought in 1967 when I was 15, an Aria classical). I've been a professional woodworker most my life, and almost tried building guitars 20 years ago, but realized that the learning curve was too long to try to make that a career. (I wish I had!) But now that I'm semi-retired it doesn't matter. So EC#1 is the result.
In my woodworking I've always preferred to use domestic hardwoods where I could, I had some walnut kicking around, so I decided to use that. The back is two pieces of 1/16" walnut veneer left over from a project that I laminated in a 15' dish in a vacuum bag. It's actually about 2.5mm thick. The sides were resawn from a piece of quartersawn walnut, drum sanded down to 2mm and bent on a homemade Fox bender using a controlled BBQ starter as a heat element (I now have a silicone blanket for the next one). I also laminated the linings from 3 pieces of walnut.
I bought the top plate from Alaska Specialty Woods, some very tight grain reclaimed old growth Sitka.
I started with the rosette, borrowing a design off the internet.
Pablo Raquena's videos on YouTube were extremely helpful along the way, along with Driftwood Guitars 3000 year-old project videos, and as much as I could find from Rob O'Brien, John Hall, Zimnicki guitars and many others. KitGuitars forum as well as classicalguitarDelcamp forum have taught me so much.