Pore o pac not filling?

The Achilles' Heel of Luthiery
Jcolvin

Pore o pac not filling?

Post by Jcolvin »

Hello all,

This is my first attempt at pore filling with a paste filler. On my first build I finished with Tru oil and pore filled by slurry sanding with the tru oil. It worked but took many many sessions. For this build I got some pore o pac hoping to speed up the pore filling and get a smoother end result. Here's what I've done:

-wash coat of 1lb cut shellac
-light dry sand with 400 (this made the pores show up very clearly as they remained glossy but the surface was sanded)
-pore o pac- I mixed it up thoroughly, wiped it on with a rag going in circles, and against the grain (in that order), leaving a pretty thick layer. Then waited maybe ten minutes and squeegeed it off with a credit card at a 45 degree angle. Wipe with a clean rag across the grain to clean it up a bit more. Let dry over night.
-repeated the pore o pac process two more times for a total of three applications.

The pores are still not filled as you can see in the photo. Am I doing something wrong or will it just take a few more applications?

Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
tippie53

Re: Pore o pac not filling?

Post by tippie53 »

the 400 grit is not a good thing you don't want to sand much past 180.

First off you don't wipe it on you have to allow a certain amount of "flash" time.

What I do is first seal the box, then I mix my filler in a small container , I do about 3 tablespoons at a time. I get the natural so I have to stain it. After I color it I may thin it as when I mix it I want to see about the color of hershey chocolate syrup and about the same consistency . Once I have it mixed and thinned I then add a drop of naphtha for each tablespoon I used . This aids in the flash time.
With you rubbing it with a rag you never let it set up , the wiping didn't do much good.