Buffing alternatives

The Achilles' Heel of Luthiery
kredwards

Buffing alternatives

Post by kredwards »

I am anxiously waiting for the finish of my first guitar to cure so that I can buff it out. I have no experience here. I was thinking it might be nice to get an attachment for a random orbital sander or even a drill. Does anyone have experience with something like this? I bought a bench buffer at Harbor Freight, find the speed is 3600 rpm, too fast. I will be returning it. Also, what about hand buffing the guitar?

Thanks,

Kent
tippie53

Re: Buffing alternatives

Post by tippie53 »

the car buffers work good for this
John Hall
Blues Creek Guitars Inc
Authorized CF Martin Repair Center
president of Association of Stringed Instrument Artisans
http://www.bluescreekguitars.com
kredwards

Post by kredwards »

Thanks, John. I haven't buffed out a car in 45 years. I believe there are essentially two types; one that looks like an orbital sander (no handle) and one that looks like an angle grinder. Does it matter what kind? Also, just get the buffs that are made for autos?

Kent
tippie53

Post by tippie53 »

I have an arbor and random oribital. I use them both but the random orbital may be the best option to start with . I also use a lambs wool bonnet and the foam bonnet. Learning how to finish is as much about technique as it is on what you use. Take your time and observe what happens. In most cases with Nitro , most people rush it . This stuff does need curing time. Read the labels carefully . More finishes are messed up because of the final stages than application. Prep is so important , after that ,it is the level sanding process that matters.
john
John Hall
Blues Creek Guitars Inc
Authorized CF Martin Repair Center
president of Association of Stringed Instrument Artisans
http://www.bluescreekguitars.com
Tony_in_NYC

Post by Tony_in_NYC »

Kent,