Guitar

The Achilles' Heel of Luthiery
denny80

Guitar

Post by denny80 »

I am new with guitar.please help me which guitar is best for sour fingers.
Ben-Had

Re: Guitar

Post by Ben-Had »

Try using a light gauge string - they are really "sweet."

Tim B
Tim Benware
MuddyFox

Post by MuddyFox »

Having gone all the routes on this one, my belief is that you need to decide what your goal is...

If you are in just for laughs, go with light strings, go with classical, go with electrics. It will only hurt for a few weeks until you get first callouses (or maybe not at all).

Now, if you are in it for the long run, look into "toughening up". Heavier strings always sound fuller (which is pretty much what you want on a guitar, especially acoustic). I've started with 9s on electric and 10s on acoustic and in retrospect, those were waaay to flimsy (especially on electric, it's very hard to hold a note to pitch without bending it). I'm up to 11s on electric and 12s on acoustic and I have absolutely no problems fretting both single notes and chords. And I have no intention ever going down in gauge (health permitting), the sound is just so much better.

Take it easy in the beginning but if you are at all serious about your playing and your sound, ramp it up once you can comfortably play a certain gauge.
denny80

Post by denny80 »

Thanks for reply
kencierp

Post by kencierp »

I have not taught in many, many years but my very wise music instructor gave me this advice and I always pass it on -- leave the guitar out of the case on a stand and rather then practicing for 30 or 60 minutes, break your time into 3 or 6 ten minute sessions. Not only will you discover that your finger tenderness issue will disappear --- you will learn the material faster and at a deeper level of perfection. Go slow, play each note accurately otherwise you will tend to commit your mistakes to memory. $.02
kencierp

Post by kencierp »