Hello from Michigan

New Members, tell us a bit about yourselves
guycalleddave

Hello from Michigan

Post by guycalleddave »

Hey I'm an aspiring builder in Lansing Michigan, our state's capital. However Lansing is more importantly home to one of the best music shops in the country, Elderly Instruments.

I'm typically a blues player and currently have a Heritage Millennium Double Cut as my main electric and used to play in a local open jam before the pandemic shut things down.

I enjoy working with my hands and learning not only how, but why things should be done.

Looking forward to review your building threads and eventually start my own kit D-21 project once I collect all the necessary tools to do it property.

I can also make really good sour dough bread.
So long and thanks for all the fish.
jread

Re: Hello from Michigan

Post by jread »

D21 sounds like a great build. Welcome. I happen to get my cases from Elderly. Great in stock selections and they show up super fast down here in Indy. Post progress and questions..
phavriluk

Post by phavriluk »

If OP wants a 'bargain' D-21, he'll be bucks ahead to buy one. When accumulating guitar tooling, the cost of that stuff will vastly exceed the price of a finished instrument. And OP will never get, for sure as a first project, an instrument anything like a 'real' Martin
D-21.
peter havriluk
ruby@magpage.com

Post by ruby@magpage.com »

You don't have to spend a lot of money to build a guitar. I am on #9 and am still building jigs. Still don't have - and probably will never have - a go bar deck or sanding dish. I built one guitar where my only expense was binding, rosette material, nut, saddle, tuners and frets.