Not exactly NEWby

New Members, tell us a bit about yourselves
RSommers

Not exactly NEWby

Post by RSommers »

Hi all!

I'd like to introduce myself. Howdy!

I know my 'join date' is several years back. I stumbled on to this place, joined and life got in the way! Now that I'm retired... I'm getting into building guitars.

I'm a musician (as are most folks here I suppose?) and I play strings. Been playing guitar for 45 years or so. Started out learning Woody and progressed to Prine and then got bit by the Bluegrass bug. I wasn't a very good flatpicker so I picked up string bass. Played bass for a good 15 years. Then the Scotch/Irish bug bit me and I learned to play New England style fiddle for contra dances. I played for about 20 years on fiddle. I still play backup guitar (sock guitar) for fiddlers.

While playing fiddle I learned a lot about how it's constructed and had a friend who actually built them. I watched and by osmosis learned and eventually had the luck to seriously learn from Juan Mijares in Colorado Springs. He held a class on the 1st Tuesday of each month. There was about 3 or 4 of us attending. We'd pay him $20 each class so it was beneficial for him. Took me 2 years to build at that rate. I have 5 violins under my belt thus far.

I've always 'tinkered' with my guitars, so there's a natural curiosity there. I was a 'tech guy' in real life. Electronics and mechanical technologies.

I always wanted an L5 jazz guitar and figured "They're expensive, why not build one?" so I did! Actually two of them. The 2nd sounds the best - probably because I left too much wood on the 1st (have to revisit that at some point)? They're not much different than carving a fiddle (or cello in this case), so I took a stab at the Benadetto book and plan and 2 yrs later finished #1. #2 didn't take as long. Oh and I could have bought 2 really fine archtops for all the investment in equipment, but it wouldn't have been as much fun!!