Long time player, build noob

New Members, tell us a bit about yourselves
LessPaul

Long time player, build noob

Post by LessPaul »

This place is awesome! I'm new here. I've been lurking for a few nights now. I'll likely lurk around a bit more... I've only ever repaired guitars, building one always sounded so daunting. This place seems like a great place to learn!
tippie53

Re: Long time player, build noob

Post by tippie53 »

hope you learn
we all share information
John Hall
Blues Creek Guitars Inc
Authorized CF Martin Repair Center
president of Association of Stringed Instrument Artisans
http://www.bluescreekguitars.com
Diane Kauffmds

Post by Diane Kauffmds »

We love questions, so don't be shy about asking. I hope you have a lot of fun here.
Diane Kauffmann
Country Roads Guitars
countryroadsguitars@gmail.com
Kbore

Post by Kbore »

Yes, it is intimidating and difficult (I am a noob too) but so was learning to play it. It’s the same realm, but very very satisfying. Farm out the most difficult processes and start with a kit....
Welcome to the forum.
Last edited by Kbore on Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Measure Twice,

Karl B
LessPaul

Post by LessPaul »

Thanks guys!! I'm excited to learn! I'd have a much steeper learning curve without y'all! :)

Any ideas on where to start clicking around? or just willy nilly?
Diane Kauffmds

Post by Diane Kauffmds »

Well, if you're going to start with a kit guitar, I would check out kits. If you're thinking about a Martin style guitar, I highly recommend Blues Creek Guitar kits. John puts together first quality components (not second quality, or castoffs). He's also available to help you, and support you much more than other companies that sell kits.

Of course there are other kits on the internet, and we will all help you, including John. You'll have a lot of support.

As far as building, go to YouTube and search Blues Creek Guitars. There are a plethora of building videos to watch.
Diane Kauffmann