Hello from Southern California

New Members, tell us a bit about yourselves
GuitarradTJ

Hello from Southern California

Post by GuitarradTJ »

Hello to All,
My name is Raul, currently I live in Santa Ana Ca. I just got an itch to build my first guitar. I'll be building a classical and I must admit I'm feeling a little overwhelmed, but VERY excited to start. I've been playing for fun for half my life, but my son is a highschool junior and has been attending an art school.since the 7th grade in the classical guitar conservatory. He's grown so much as a guitarist, I'll extremely proud of him and in awe of what he learns at school (very proud papa).
So I'm hoping my first build will become a family heirloom (if it sounds descent) and will also be the first of many. I'm building on a right budget, but I work in a model shop with lots of tools, so i.don't anticipate having to buy a ton of new tools. This forum looks like it has tons of information. Starting to read Cumpianos' book Christmas day, it's going to be a great journey!
Cheers!
Raul
Kevin Sjostrand

Re: Hello from Southern California

Post by Kevin Sjostrand »

Hey Raul, welcome. A fellow Californian. Great!
I'm up in Visalia. I am just starting to jig up to make my first classical guitar after 8 steel string and one nylon crossover, so I'll be right in there with you.
Don't be shy to ask questions and post pictures. Start a building thread when you get started, we all enjoy seeing what others are doing.

Kevin

Post by   »

Raul, glad you found your way to the KGF. Members here will be glad to assist and share their knowledge.
Photos! Post many photos. Whoever posts the most photos, wins..............

-tommy
GuitarradTJ

Post by GuitarradTJ »

Kevin Sjostrand wrote:Hey Raul, welcome. A fellow Californian. Great!
I'm up in Visalia. I am just starting to jig up to make my first classical guitar after 8 steel string and one nylon crossover, so I'll be right in there with you.