New and I already have a question

New Members, tell us a bit about yourselves
Gerry

New and I already have a question

Post by Gerry »

Hello Kit Guitar members,
I brought a 000 kit Martin kit and the Bill Cory book last week and I already have a question.
I have some woodworking experience. I grew up in a family of carpenters. My father, grandfather and great grandfather were all carpenters. I also have a slew of cousins who are carpenters. The saying in the family is that it runs in the blood like wooden legs. I have no idea what that means.
I worked as a capenter, myself in my twenties (mostly additions and kitchens) but that was 30 odd years ago. I also have a bit of experience doing cabinetry and making furniture. Still, I realize that building a guitar will be more challenging that anything I have built in the past.
My first job after getting the kit was to build a mold. The mold is very close to the pattern provided in the kit. but I think I might have a problem. When I dry fit the sides in the mold they appear to be too short. They butt together at the tail but show a gap of about 3/16" at the neck joint. I don't think the heel of the neck will cover this. The sides are 3 3/8" wide and the heel of the neck is also 3 3/8". If the neck joint sits flush with the top, the gap will show below the heel of the neck and I don't think the binding will cover this.
Is this a problem or am I missing something? Is there an adjustment I need to make?

Thanks in advance for any help,
Gerry
Avondale, PA
tippie53

Re: New and I already have a question

Post by tippie53 »

Hi Gerry
you want the sides to fit as tight as possible. You didn't say if the mold is 1 or 2 piece? in any can an adjustment on the mold's center line will allow you to make this a perfect fit. In the perfect scenario the side will just lift about an 1/8 inch off the mold at the waist when you set them in. The spreader at the waist will make it fit.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LrgRKKsxL-M