Howdy from Houston, Texas

New Members, tell us a bit about yourselves
cooltouch

Howdy from Houston, Texas

Post by cooltouch »

I ran across this site while googling for more information on guitar kits, and it seemed like a no-brainer that I should join, so I did.

I've never built a guitar from a kit before. But I have built a number of guitars. I learned how to build from scratch about eight years ago, and have specialized in classical guitars, although I have built one steel-string acoustic, but it was strictly for my own use. In recent years, for a few reasons, I have not been active, but I'm looking to ramp up my activity again.

However, my desire right now is not to build another acoustic. but to build at least one electric. I have several electric guitars already, one of which I had dedicated for use with my Roland GR-33 guitar synthesizer. It's a Stratocaster -- my only one -- and I've grown tired of not being able to put it back into its case because of the bulk of the Roland HK-2a pickup. So, I've decided to build a solid-body electric that will be, in a sense, slaved to the Roland. I've been looking at several different kits as possibilities, but right now the highest on my list will be a PRS-looking solidbody with a set 24-fret neck. I mentioned that I'd like to build "at least one" electric because I also would like to own a nice Les Paul, but don't know when or if I'll ever be able to afford the one I want. I can build one like I want from a kit for probably about $300, maybe a tad more.