Binding top and back, how do you all do it?

What're You Doing?
ChuckBarnett

Binding top and back, how do you all do it?

Post by ChuckBarnett »

As a beginner I knew this day would come. Looking for something that will allow me to do a couple of instruments a year or such a matter. I have a Bosch Colt router and a Dremel 4000 with a base. To cut binding channels, it looks like I should have some way of registering off of the side of the instrument to get the depth of cut. Stewart MacDonald sells a special binding cutting bit and bearings. Looks like the cheapest way to go. I welcome your thoughts, as always. :-)
Cbstark46143

Re: Binding top and back, how do you all do it?

Post by Cbstark46143 »

I bought mine from John Hall at Bluescreek Guitars. The set contained more bearings than the StewMac set and the cost was less.
ruby@magpage.com

Post by ruby@magpage.com »

You need more than just the cutters - you need a way to hold the router so that is parallel to the sides and so the router base does not tip on the domed top or back. There are several auxiliary router bases that allow this alignment to the sides. There are jigs that hold the router solidly so that you can move the guitar body instead of the router. There are also jigs that do not require bushings on the bit. Depending on how many instruments you might build, it might or might not make sense to invest a lot of money at this stage.

Ed
Ed M
MaineGeezer

Post by MaineGeezer »

I've had indifferent success using a Dremel to cut binding/purfling channels. I can't manage to get an even depth of cut. After a few near-catastrophes I started using a gramil from LMI, cutting the channels by hand. It takes longer, but I find the process meditative.

I'm not *that* fond of the process though, so I made a Fleishman-style binding machine. John sells a version of the Fleishman. http://www.bluescreekguitars.com/shop/i ... cts_id=140

It makes cutting channels about as easy as it is likely to get.