Air Drying vs Kiln Drying Tonewoods

What're You Doing?
BlindBo

Air Drying vs Kiln Drying Tonewoods

Post by BlindBo »

A friend has a log of Chinese Pistache he cut from his property and would like to cut it up into back and side sets. He has a guy who will 1/4 saw it for him. He is planning to kiln dry it and has asked me about it. I have no experience with sawing or drying wood for guitars but told him I’d see what I could learn. From reading, it appears most traditional builders prefer air drying. I have not gotten any responses about using kiln drying other than one thread I found here that mentions solar kiln use.
My friend doesn’t really want to wait several years for air drying if possible. Is there anyone here who uses kiln drying on green wood? If so, I’d appreciate any comments you can give me.
Thanks
Diane Kauffmds

Re: Air Drying vs Kiln Drying Tonewoods

Post by Diane Kauffmds »

I don't know much about it either, but kiln drying sounds a lot like torrification. Torrification is a way of speeding up wood aging. It changes the tone and the way wood has to be handled when building with it.

People have their own opinions on sound; some people love torrified wood; others don't. Personally, I prefer to work with and play natural wood. IMO, there's no shortcut or substitute for natural age.

He could torrify a set or two, and air dry the rest.
Diane Kauffmann
Country Roads Guitars
countryroadsguitars@gmail.com
Bob Gleason

Post by Bob Gleason »