Dr. Rick Gets a StewMac Kit for his Big Birthday

Take us through building your guitar step by step. Post pictures and tell us what you're doing.
Srick

Dr. Rick Gets a StewMac Kit for his Big Birthday

Post by Srick »

I've been a woodworker for many years. Couple this hobby with my 40 plus years in dentistry and you have a great basis for luthiery.

As a dentist, you have to:
  • work with natural materials
  • be detail oriented
  • learn how to correct your errors
  • deal with the frustration of things that are beyond your control
  • order all sorts of specialty tools to do the job right
  • you are always working in small dark spaces with a light and mirror
  • and you have to constantly be a problem solver
Sound familiar?

I have repaired and setup my own guitars for several years now. I even repaired a large hole in the side of a 1935 KayKraft this last year and achieved a really good repair!

Building a guitar was not quite where I wanted to go, because I knew about the extra level of complexity and all that would be needed to get to the finish line. But my wife had faith in me. What prompted me to start this building blog is that I had immediate success and then was handed some humble pie - and of course, fixing errors is one of the best teachers. (whether we like it or not)
Last edited by Srick on Mon Jul 24, 2023 9:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
And you know there's a YouTube video of a guy in Mexico who builds a guitar only using a machete, right?
Srick

A Great Beginning, and then, some 'humble pie'

Post by Srick »

The Stewmac kit strikes a nice balance between easy and overwhelming. It is well-documented, and supplementing the written instructions with their supplied video (and many other independent YouTube videos (shoutout to John Hall!)), makes this project achievable.