My first Kit - A Modified D18 from Blues Creek

Take us through building your guitar step by step. Post pictures and tell us what you're doing.
mthatcher61

My first Kit - A Modified D18 from Blues Creek

Post by mthatcher61 »

Hello everyone. I am a brandy newbie. I am starting out with a modified D18 Kit from John at Blues Creek. I wanted to build a D18 with a 1 and 3/4 " Neck to match the HD-28LSV that I normally play. I am starting from scratch and figured first thing is to build a bench. I found this one that looked pretty cheap and should do the trick. It says $50.00 but I walked out of Home Depot 116.00 Lighter. I did buy a 4x8 sheet of pegboard, and a shop light as well though. I think I could have gotten cheaper 2x4x8's ( mine were $3.something each and I think I saw the $2.00 something stock as I was walking out ( whoops) I also used 3/4" pressboard for the tops instead of the 1/2 " plywood recommended. All in all its a pretty sturdy bench and I'm pleased with it.

http://www.familyhandyman.com/workshop/ ... h/view-all
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
tippie53

Re: My first Kit - A Modified D18 from Blues Creek

Post by tippie53 »

take your time and enjoy the process we are here to help
John Hall
Blues Creek Guitars Inc
Authorized CF Martin Repair Center
president of Association of Stringed Instrument Artisans
http://www.bluescreekguitars.com
mthatcher61

Post by mthatcher61 »

Thank you John, I hope to.
B Shuler2006

Post by B Shuler2006 »

The HD 28LSV is on my want list! :) Good luck with your D 18 build!
Brandon Shuler
Shuler Guitars
MaineGeezer

Post by MaineGeezer »

If you just want a guitar, it is clearly cheaper to just buy a guitar! But that's not the point, of course.

I haven't added up what I've spent so far on my guitar project, but it's "a lot."
Don't believe everything you know.
Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.