My First Guitar-OM Blog

Take us through building your guitar step by step. Post pictures and tell us what you're doing.
Diane Kauffmds

My First Guitar-OM Blog

Post by Diane Kauffmds »

I've been practicing for several months on scrap wood, and two project guitars. I feel I'm ready to start my OM. The build will be Peruvian Walnut sides and back, with a Carpathian spruce top. I bought some of the materials, and John Hall, from Blues Creek Guitars, assembled the custom kit and was gracious enough to bend the sides for me.

I may be doing the different steps slightly out of order. I prefer to work on my front porch, and with winter coming, I have limited time to finish the "messy" stuff. So, I'm starting with the inlay and fretboard. Although the fretboard was radiused to 16", I'm more comfortable with 15".

I centered the board on the neck with a couple of dots of Ducoat cement, then radiused it to 15". After radiusing the board, I leveled it; the fingerboard extension is tad lower than the rest of the fretboard (it barely shows light under it), but I figure that it gives me a bit of leeway when the neck is installed. I drew a center line down the board.

In the first photo, you'll see the fretboard all lined out with the inlay glued on the board, with small dots of Ducoat, which releases better than CA glue for me. I etched around the inlay with a #11 X-Acto knife, then used chalk to work into the etching. I used my Dremel with the Stew-Mac routing base for the inlay. To make the corners sharper for the inlay, I chiseled the corners with my 1/8" chisel.

There is one tiny little hole that I have to fill, but otherwise the inlay is complete.

Last edited by Diane Kauffmds on Fri Oct 10, 2014 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Diane Kauffmann
Country Roads Guitars
countryroadsguitars@gmail.com
Diane Kauffmds

Re: My First Guitar-OM

Post by Diane Kauffmds »