Engelmann/Honduran Mahogany Dreadnought build

Take us through building your guitar step by step. Post pictures and tell us what you're doing.
naccoachbob

Engelmann/Honduran Mahogany Dreadnought build

Post by naccoachbob »

I'm just getting started on my fourth guitar. The first was totally from a kit from StewMac. It came out too tight for me. I'm sneaking in from time to time and shaving the X braces to try loosening it up. The second was for my daughter and came from KMG. The neck got all wonky as far as mating with the top because of a misunderstanding on profiling the top. I will scrap that body some time and keep the neck. It has special meaning to me. The third was for my son, and it really sounds nice. Everything came from a Martin kit that a married couple sold to me so cheaply that it wasn't funny. They had no time to build a guitar. I got the top from Tony Costa, a Bearclaw Lutz Spruce that turned out nicely.
This one is Honduran Mahogany that I got from RC Tonewoods sometime back, and an Engelmann top just in from LMI. I'm using a number of pre-shaped parts on this, but otherwise it's not kit built per se. I got a tower binding machine from John Parchem, and am so ready to try it out. Much appreciated, John. And John Hall provided me with a bending machine for my first stab at bending sides.

Here's one of the sides as it sits on the plan sheet from StewMac. It looks like it's out of whack with the plan because I moved it to the left and forgot to put it back. It fits!