Blues Creek 000 Martin Build from non-guitarist

Take us through building your guitar step by step. Post pictures and tell us what you're doing.
stevemac00

Blues Creek 000 Martin Build from non-guitarist

Post by stevemac00 »

I've been a hobby furniture builder for thirty years but getting old and decided to learn skills used on smaller projects in my retirement. My son plays guitar so I decided to try and build the 000 14 fret for a Christmas present.

To demonstrate how naive I am, I immediately took a photo of the top and ask John why the rosette was so sloppy (not realizing the fret board would cover this). I also asked what to do about the black rings. John politely answer my questions without pointing out how ridiculous the questions.
Martin000_IMG_1236.jpg
I glued the blocks in per Cory's book and while the glue was setting I, got concerned the blocks weren't correct (funny, heh?). Again, I have no confidence about my guitar knowledge.
Martin000_IMG_4561.jpg
I looked online to find pictures and determined I was good but I noticed everybody else's tail block had smooth edges. That made sense as I could imagine the sound waves rippling over the hard edge. The next day when the glue was cured I planed in a chamfer and smoothed over with sandpaper. It was more difficult after gluing in but still worked fine.
Martin000_IMG_4568.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
stevemac00

Re: Blues Creek 000 Martin Build from non-guitarist

Post by stevemac00 »

Here's the top with the braces glued on. I used a gobar deck from John Hall. Note the upper bout brace. It doesn't match the pencil lines at all. Since I didn't know better, I simply centered it on the lines. I later found out this was a mistake.
Martin000_IMG_4585.jpg
What good were those pencil lines? A rookie mistake. All I can do is remove it and try again.
Martin000_IMG_4609.jpg