1st scratch build (Walnut OM)

Take us through building your guitar step by step. Post pictures and tell us what you're doing.
Coach

1st scratch build (Walnut OM)

Post by Coach »

Rather than posing question in various threads, I'll just go ahead and open a specific thread on a Walnut OM I've started work on. This is my first build, haven't done a kit either. I'll have lots of questions, so I'll use this thread for that, as well as for procedures and issues that come up.

I'm on a slim budget, so I'm planning to have this completed costing less than $100. I think I'll be able to do that, as a friend gave me a plank of Walnut as well as Mahogany. Am not planning anything fancy, will try to get by without binding and purfling.

I salvaged a neck off a ruined guitar, so am hoping that part will work out all right. I did get an AA grade Sitka top, Sitka bracing, back joint reinforcement and blank Rosewood bridge from Timeless Instruments. The plans I'm using are those OM free downloadable from C.Grellier.

The Walnut I'm using for the back and sides is nice, however it's not quarter sawn. Am hoping that'll be ok. So far, I've split it into .25" thick pieces. The sides have been sanded down to .115 and bent. The bending part went well, but I did so without profiling them, were 6 inches wide.

I've also joined the back. So far so good.

A question I do have is about the kerfing. Is it okay to use that excess Walnut that came off when I profiled the sides after bending? It's already pre-bent and fits nicely.

Planning to use this top wood. About 12 LPI all through.

Back, joined, but not sanded to thickness.

Sides bent with linings glued. Needs some cleanup.
Last edited by Coach on Tue Dec 13, 2011 3:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.
tippie53

Re: 1st scratch build (Walnut OM)

Post by tippie53 »

Kerfing is only for glue surface area so that should do fine.
John Hall
Blues Creek Guitars Inc
Authorized CF Martin Repair Center