Minimum Tool List to Build a Kit

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
jabbiati

Minimum Tool List to Build a Kit

Post by jabbiati »

Greetings All!

I am trying to gather some info. Hope someone has a second to help me out! I'm trying to determine if it would be worth my while to build a guitar using a kit. (Having some difficulty finding a nice guitar off the shelf with the specs I want at an intermediate player's reasonable price range...~$1500, though I'm still searching--OM w/cutaway, short scale, 1-3/4 nut.) I am pretty handy and have done quite a bit of carpentry around the house... not a lot of fine finish work, though. My question is, what is the absolute minimum set of tools, jigs, etc. I would need to have a good chance of succeeding. Assume I have no tools/jig at all and am starting as a complete newbie. Assume time is not an issue.

Thanks in advance!

--Jim
tippie53

Re: Minimum Tool List to Build a Kit

Post by tippie53 »

this depends on a number of things
what your skill level is
so lets look at a few things that I feel are needed
A mold
this keeps the symmetry and neck block in location
B clamps
spring clamps or cloths pins for kerfed lining
Deep throat C clamps for gluing bridge
C clamps for blocks
Go bar deck for gluing braces and can also be used for gluing the plates on
C Files
Nut files
Pillar files are great for fret work
Crowning file for shaping the frets after leveling
D router
used for binding and a set of binding bits
E Sand paper
80 100 120 180 220
these are all I use in building
finish work I use 800 1200 1500 2000
then buffing and polishing pads

check out the finish section
here I used wipe on finish and it came out pretty well
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=8498
John Hall
Blues Creek Guitars Inc
Authorized CF Martin Repair Center
president of Association of Stringed Instrument Artisans
http://www.bluescreekguitars.com
tippie53

Post by tippie53 »