Questions about my LMI kit

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
RobRus

Questions about my LMI kit

Post by RobRus »

I recently purchased a custom kit from LMI. I am new to guitar building but have been repairing guitars for some time. I figured I would start with a kit before trying to build from scratch.
I have not started on the kit yet as I am letting it acclimate to my shop. I have a couple more weeks before I am going to start on it so I have been going over the plans and DVD so I know exactly what to do when I start.
I custom ordered their Parlor guitar with the pre shaped Gibson style dovetail neck joint and 24.9 scale ebony fretboard. I am not sure that I ordered the correct fretboard for this neck and would like some advice.
The fretboard has been slotted for a 0 fret which I do not want to have.
I have 7/32" from the 0 fret to the end of the fretboard and an 1/8" nut
If I lay the fretboard on the neck so the 14th fret lines up with the edge of the heel I have 11/32" to the angle on the headstock. (so there is a 3/32" extra length to the angle on the headstock)
I know that I will be putting the headplate and headplate veneer on the face of the headstock which is 5/32".
I am not sure that planing down the headstock which is currently 1/2" is how to compensate for removing the 0 fret.
When I ordered the fretboard I don't recall it saying anything about a 0 fret so I am not sure if this can be cut off and compensated for on the headstock or do I need to return it and order one without a 0 fret slot.
I hope I made myself clear in my explanation. If not I can post a picture of what I am talking about.
Thanks for any help you can give me on this.
On the plans for this guitar (Parlor) it does not say what radius the top and back are suppose to be. I am assuming that is up to me and how I want to do it but I am not sure what radius this size of guitar should have.
tippie53

Re: Questions about my LMI kit