2 Questions: top and back radius and side bending

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
tugboat

2 Questions: top and back radius and side bending

Post by tugboat »

A newbie here in the beginning throes of planning an acoustic guitar build! I'm in the middle of a scratch built Korina doublecut Les Paul Special and am having a blast building it! I'm on a big acoustic guitar kick right now so I'm thinking about doing an acoustic for my next build. I already have a good OM style guitar (Taylor GA4) so I'm thinking about a dread, the front runner being a J-45. I'm not a D-28 fan but I need to try a few D-18's before deciding.

So on to my questions. Regarding the top and back radii. Are the tops and backs themselves radiused or is the radius put into the bracing, with the top and back staying flat, which bend the top and back to the correct radius once glued? If the top and back themselves are radiused are they radiused after taking down to final thickness? Meaning, if I take the top down to .110" (which I believe is a common thickness for an Adirondack top) is the radius applied after I take the top down to thickness?

Second, since I'm leaning towards a J-45 I haven't seen any kits that offer pre-bent sides. I've seen the heating blanket method and am method where you soak the sides, and with a jig using a pipe and a small propane torch, you manually bend the sides, re-wetting periodically, and then tie the sides into a mold to dry and keep into final form. I'd like to do this without buying unnecessary tools if possible and the pipe method looks intriguing. Is this method reasonable to do for a first timer?

Re: 2 Questions: top and back radius and side bending

Post by   »

Hello Mr. boat and welcome to the Forum.
In response to your second question, John Hall/Blues Creek Guitars/tippie53
can provide you with just about any kit you could imagine at a good price.
Now the free support and advice he gives? Priceless.