Neck Block - off center on top?

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
buddy225

Neck Block - off center on top?

Post by buddy225 »

Yesterday I glued on my tail and neck block. It's a Stewmac Mahogany dread kit. The neck block seems a little off center to me on the top, maybe 1/32", back looks on center. Does this look okay, or should I remove the neck block and do this over. Thank you very much, Pete

Back.JPG
top 2.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
johnnparchem

Re: Neck Block - off center on top?

Post by johnnparchem »

I am nearly 60, I can barely see 1/32" . I think you should leave it. But other can chime in.
buddy225

Post by buddy225 »

Thank you John. Maybe I'm being overly cautious with this. It's my first build and just don't to screw it up from the beginning.
B. Howard

Post by B. Howard »

First, is the dovetail already cut in the block? If so then it needs to be on center or the neck will mount off center. Also you mention that the back seems good but the top is off center. This would imply the block is twisted and may well pose problems when the top is glued on.
You never know what you are capable of until you actually try....

Brian Howard
www.brianhowardguitars.com
Taylor authorized service
Custom finishing services

Brian howard's guitar building & repair blog
http://www.brianhowardguitars.com
johnnparchem

Post by johnnparchem »

Is it a bolt on mortise and tenon joint? That is what I thought when I saw the picture.
buddy225

Post by buddy225 »

It's a bolt on neck. Here's a few more pics. I think I may be a little off center rather than out of square. Just wasn't sure if I should redo the neck block or just leave it. Of course I couldn't resist moving forward and added the top kerfing. Thank you all for your replies. This forum really takes the guesswork out of building and contains so much great instruction!

top3.JPG
top6.JPG
top5.JPG