Recomendations for Body Mold type

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
Omar_8200

Recomendations for Body Mold type

Post by Omar_8200 »

Hello all,

New here. Picked up Bill Cory's "Building Martin-style Acoustic Guitar Kits" book recently and he got me inspired to build a flattop guitar. Just bought my first flattop guitar kit from Blues Creek, a maple dreadnought with Sitka top. I am excited to get the kit and actually begin building.

I am new to flattop guitar making, but have built a Benedetto 17" archtop guitar, a Less Paul electric clone, and mandolins including an electric, 1 F-5, and three A-5s over the past several years. Plan to build this guitar and at least one OM in the future. I used a go bar deck put together by John from Blues Creek to glue the 17" archtop and F5 mandolin and made a body mold out of MDF for the guitar.

1. What do people recommend for body molds for the Martin style guitars?
2. Have people had good luck using the tracing in the Martin plans to build a body mold out of MDF?
3. How about using something like the Multi-Style Guitar mold from KMG? This seems to offer some advantages for building multiple guitars, but I am not sure how I would use this with a go bar deck.

Thanks in advance for any help,
Omar
Omar
- Mandolins and guitars constructed in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains
David L

Re: Recomendations for Body Mold type

Post by David L »

Welcome to the forum Omar. It seems you have a leg up on a lot of newcomers with your experience, you should be a shoe in!
As far as molds go, I choose to purchase my molds from John (Blues Creek), several folks here on the forum use molds from Ken (KMG), also several people build thier own molds out of various materials, I'll let them speak for themselves. An observation that I have made is that most people use an outside mold as opposed to an inside mold. You should hear from others.