Can you assess this?

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
deadedith

Can you assess this?

Post by deadedith »

Here is a bracing pattern, off the net (so I know it's true :-)). It's not an uncommon pattern.

I'm a novice, so I look at all sorts of stuff and try to advance my knowledge by assessing it and then bouncing it off the experts.

Anyway, I look at that pattern and the first thing that hits me is: balance. The areas of the top are all supported. The second thing: too much bracing? I don't know, but I would estimate the total mass of that bracing to be roughly equivalent to the 'standard' pattern that has worked well for so long. Third: that's a lot of inletting to cut into the kerfing.

All in all it does not seem like a radical alternative.

So if total mass of the top is in fact roughly equal to standard bracing, and all other things being as equal as possible, how would a pro go about assessing it?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jim_H

Re: Can you assess this?

Post by Jim_H »

I believe that is commonly referred to as a 'double X'. I'm not experienced enough to give you much feedback, but one thing I noticed is that is a big guitar. To me, that bracing pattern looks like it's best suited for really big guitars, perhaps of the twelve string variety?

Just seems like a lot of mass for the strings to move. I wonder how thick the top is?
My poorly maintained "Blog"
deadedith

Post by deadedith »

My theoretical question is: if the mass is in fact the same or less than a standard pattern, what then do we make of it?
kencierp

Post by kencierp »