Domestic Guitar

Questions and answers for beginners. If you have a question, so do most other people.
David L

Domestic Guitar

Post by David L »

Since I am a beginner I qualify to post in this section. Somewhere down the line on my guitar bucket list I would like to build a 100% domestic wood guitar, no exotics. This does not seem to be a problem until I get to the fretboard and bridge. Maple has the required characteristics for a fretboard but because it is so light in color it seems that it would get dirty and grubby relatively quickly, yuk. Walnut is also a good candidate and is dark colored but it is very open-grained and that could cause it's own set of problems. Is there another type of domestic wood that could be used that doesn't possess these undesireable traits, or could walnut be treated in some type of way as to make the open grain a non-issue, pore filling or something to that effect?

David L
tippie53

Re: Domestic Guitar

Post by tippie53 »

There are a number of domestics that are used . Top and backs are the easy part fretboards can be Maple , Osage orange , persimmon , black locust . these woods will do that job . Necks can be most any wood , walnut , basswood , Poplar , just to name a few .
Bridges can be osage orange , Persimon , those would be the best choices but I am sure you will hear from others.
John Hall
Blues Creek Guitars Inc
Authorized CF Martin Repair Center
president of Association of Stringed Instrument Artisans
http://www.bluescreekguitars.com
kencierp

Post by kencierp »