darren

Re: Idiot proof binding jig?

Post by darren »

edited
Darren
tippie53

Post by tippie53 »

I have been building guitars for about 14 yrs and Binding was the weak point of my building. I can say this Hand held units can be very problematic. You need a system that will remove as many variables in the process as can be.
My first unit was a hand held. It relied on a pilot that was independent of the cutter , this meant the cutter had to be tangent to the center of the cutter and any variance would change the width of cut. The other weak point was keeping the cutter parallel to the side. and lastly keeping the cutter even depth.
On the top it wasn't often that much as the top is reasonable square to the sides the back is the area of most concern. The back is tilted and radiused which throws the cutter all over the place. This is where the donut helps but the side location of riding the sides is still the weak link.
Once you get a system that takes the hand element out of the process the variables drop significantly.
Here is what I used and what I found that did and didn't work
1 Hand units
too many variables for consistent results. They will work best with simple binding but the more complex the binding pattern the more the variability of the process become dominant .
2 router table
These are little better but you have a variable in the depth control. I tried the foam thing and other methods but the body would still rock and the variable in the purfling ledge would have issues with gapping from the ledge varying. It did better than hand units but again the more complex the binding the more hand work to true things up.
3 Tower Unit
This was first designed by Tom Rebekke and it was the first time I have a complex binding work but it took the pilot bearing set to make it work. The carriage allows a finite adjustment of the body in relation to the cutter. This is very critical especially on the back.
4 Fleishman/Williams jig