Basic questions from a novice - thinking of a StewMac "D"

General Information about Building Kit Guitars
OldManGuitarGuy

Basic questions from a novice - thinking of a StewMac "D"

Post by OldManGuitarGuy »

I'm an old retired guy. Have been playing guitar since college with a break of 20 years. Started up again at age 60, ten years ago. I play with only my fingers, no picks, on steel stringed acoustic guitars. Right now I own two Eastman D sized guitars. I also play a Pono tenor uke.

I am looking for a hobby, and I've always been interested in guitar construction, woods, etc. I am not that experienced with building-type woodworking, though I've done the usual repairs around the house. I am pretty good at furniture refinishing and gun stock finishing, both of which I think will serve me well with finishing the guitar once built. I have basic hand tools like hammers and screwdrivers, electric drills and a circular saw.

After a day's research, it appears a bolt-on necked D sized StewMac guitar would suite me. However, I am totally confused over what tools I'd need to complete their kit project. I see tool "kits" on StewMac's web pages for $20 to over $400; but I am not sure what I really would need to do the job. I'm having a hard time figuring out what tools are mainly for repair or building from scratch, and what tools are needed with the kit. I'm not afraid of spending $300-$400 dollars on tools, but I'd like to know if they are the proper ones I need to build one of their kits.