Dovetail v. Bolt (my long experience)

General Information about Building Kit Guitars
stevemac00

Dovetail v. Bolt (my long experience)

Post by stevemac00 »

I'm a veteran woodworker and have cut all kinds of dovetails. My skills have always been adequate. Before buying my first kit I talked to John Hall who patiently provided this advice:
  • Dovetail
    Pro - Stays put for a long time
    Con - Harder to work with
  • Bolt-on
    Pro - Easier to work with
    Con - May not sound as good (some say) and requires tightening from time-to-time
Per John's suggestions I watch his youtube videos and decided nothing looked that difficult about it. Plus, as a woodworker I appreciate simple elegance and the dovetail neck is the hallmark of elegance so I ordered the dovetail 000 kit from John.

It started out okay and I made a 20° sanding block per Cory's book suggestion. As I carefully sanded the neck went down further but it also became loose. I'd shim the dovetail and try again only to achieve the same results. After doing this multiple times I realized I'd become insane before the dovetail would fit. (You might think I don't get it and you might be right but I understand the concept of sanding the lower half of the heel cheek and upper half of the dovetail to lower the neck or similar contrasts to change the lateral angle.)
Martin000_IMG_4782.jpg
Thankfully the neck in John's kit had a threaded insert. I thought it was there to attach to a neck holder for finishing but I had the another use for this ingenious addition. I cut the head off a 1/4" bolt and filed a center point before screwing it into the neck.
Martin000_IMG_4783.jpg
By screwing it in the right amount I was able to place an indent in the neck block just as the neck reached the desired depth. The indent showed me precisely where to drill a 1/4" hole through the neck block. Now I could secure my neck the without any fear of it coming loose.
Martin000_IMG_4784.jpg