cheap guitar kit

General Information about Building Kit Guitars
Keeperoftheforest

cheap guitar kit

Post by Keeperoftheforest »

Hi guys, im a beginner and I really need your help.
Im looking for an acoustic guitar kit under <200$-An acoustic kit with everythings beside tools.
-An acoustic kit with a plan or manual to help me out.

Thx for you help.
;)
SKBarbour

Re: cheap guitar kit

Post by SKBarbour »

Keep in mind you get what you pay for. You can get some fairly cheap kits out there but from what I've read about these kits, they can be quite a challeng due to inconsistencies, cheap parts, poor or no instruction, and no customer service. Its worth it to save up a little more cash to put towards a decent kit. If you have not already take a look at KMG or Blues Creek. Both have quality kits. Cost is a little higher but in my opinion worth it.
kyle
Ken Hundley

Post by Ken Hundley »

I bet, if you really looked around, you could do it. You may have to locally source your own woods. Here's what I come up with on LMIIs kit wizards. I didn't spend too much time, but I found some pretty inexpensive parts:

Sample LMII.com guitar

2nd grade (AA) Sitka top: $40
Black Walnut, 2nd grade: $55
Matching head plate: 5
Sitka dred pre-shaped braces: $20
Maple Bridge Plate: 3.05
Mahogany End Block: 4.50
Spruce Back Joint Reinforcement: 4.50
Sapele Neck Blank (will require a layered heel, scarfed neck joint): 16.00
Rosette: 20
Binding/purfling/End Wedge: 30
Fingerboard (West African Ebony, 2nd grade): 13
Bridge: 18 (Ebony to match fingerboard, less if you dont want ebony)

Hardware

Truss Rod: 15 (Martin style double action)
Tuners: 35 Grover Vintage Style
Nut and Saddle: 10

Total kit: $289

This will require that you build a mold, learn how to bend the wood, assemble, laminate, and carve the neck. The finishing material and glue will easily cost another $50, plus sandpaper and other tools ( another $150-200). Plus a case for $75.