My First Build

General Information about Building Kit Guitars
ngerty

My First Build

Post by ngerty »

I thought I'd just start a general thread about my guitar building process. I got my kit the other day (D-28 Style) and haven't done a whole lot yet. I'm building a new and more accurate mold and am letting the guitar parts acclimate. The first things I would like to do are to glue the back together, trim the sides to length, glue the positioning dots into fretboard, and then move on to the two blocks and the lining.

Can I cut or glue anything before the acclimation process is complete? I only want to glue the dots onto the fretboard and maybe get the back glued up. Then once my jig is complete and I have the sides flush with the mold and a centerline marked, can I cut the excess side material? Or should I wait a little while longer?

-Neil
klooker

Re: My First Build

Post by klooker »

Disclaimer - I'm a first time builder too but I do have woodworking experience.

Wood expands & contracts across the grain. There is very little movement along the grain.

I would say it is safe to glue up the back but do not glue on the braces until it is acclimated. The braces are going to restrict the cross grain movement which can result in a crack if the movement is too extreme.

Gluing dots on the neck should not be an issue either. The big concern is the soundboard & back which move the most because they are the widest. Once braced, their movement will be restricted.

Kevin Looker
enalnitram

Post by enalnitram »

I think the answers are that it depends. What is actual RH in your shop? Where has it been? Will it stay that way?
ngerty

Post by ngerty »

I glued the dots on the fretboard but there was some superglue runout that has dried on the fretboard (sort of into it as well causing the wood to darken). What's the best way to remove this glue? The fretboard is smooth an has the radius already. It was perfect until I came along. Maybe some black dye or stain?