Deflection testing

phillycyberjoe

Deflection testing

Post by phillycyberjoe »

Hello All,
I just joined this forum the other day and have been really enjoying reading through all the valuable user contributed content. I am a born and raised Philly guy and I now live a bit NW of the city in Horsham, Pa.

I have built a couple of kit guitars from StewMac and was pretty happy and proud of them. I tried building a Tele style electric from scratch and I must say that I am thrilled with how well it came out and how well it plays.

Today, I guess I can say that I officially started a scratch build of an acoustic since I jointed two really nice Carpathian Spruce tops. Since I've never done this before, I've been reading a bunch about finding the desired thicknesses of various tops. While reading, I stumbled upon what John had mentioned about deflection testing and would like to learn more about it. It would seem to me that testing deflection would reduce a significant amount of variability while trying to find the optimum thickness.

It would be great it someone could share some specifics about how to build a simple deflection testing jig and how best to use it.

Thanks in advance for any help!!!

Joe
tippie53

Re: Deflection testing

Post by tippie53 »

the deflection test allows you to use a ratio of pre and post deflections . If you use a given weight at the post pre brace and post brace , you can find a relationship between the 2. When one is divided by the other you can find a math relationship.
It is up to you to find the one that makes your ears happy. I use a standard thickness top of .117 on forward shift and .105 for rear brace. What the ratio you want is tricky. I like to measure the movement pre brace. After brace with the weight I want to see the deflection at the point of the saddle.
I adjust the braces to the point of movement. For me about a 2lb weight.
John Hall
Blues Creek Guitars Inc
Authorized CF Martin Repair Center