Topic Icon

Ask questions about the phpBB forum software. Any questions on the use of the new forum software can be asked here.
naccoachbob

Topic Icon

Post by naccoachbob »

Sean,
I remember you explaining that a topic icon will be filled in when there is something new there.
When I see that there's something new at Guitar Building Procedures, I go into the topics by clicking on the small icon so that it takes me to the latest post that I haven't read.
However, when I exhaust all the posts that I have not yet seen, and back out of that section, I still have the filled icon telling me there are unread posts.
It doesn't happen with any of the other forum areas, just the Building Procedures section.
Also (and I'm a computer tech and this drives me wild) it's not something that occurs every time. But it happens frequently.
I know those are the very hardest to diagnose, and it doesn't inhibit functionality, but is one of those small annoyances.
Bob
seanbig

Re: Topic Icon

Post by seanbig »

Bob,

Are you "backing out" of the thread by using the back arrow in your browser? If so, it might not be retrieving the page from the server and just showing you the page you saw before.

Also, sometimes when new posts in a thread span into a new page, if you don't go to the next page the icon will still show that you have unread posts.

If it's neither of those scenarios, I would have to know how to reproduce the problem.

Sean
Sean Big
Sean@BiggerRoom.net
Bigger Room Productions - Web Design for any size project.

When You're Workin' on Somethin' Good
You're Gonna Need a Bigger Room
naccoachbob

Post by naccoachbob »

Yes, I always back out of all the pages.
I'll refresh the previous page next time and see if that helps.
But I back out of all the sections the same way.
I'll give it a try.
seanbig

Post by seanbig »

Interesting. Yes, let me know what the results are.
Sean Big
Sean@BiggerRoom.net

naccoachbob

Post by naccoachbob »