The Music We Play...

Talk About Anything Here, Anything At All
mjmeehan

The Music We Play...

Post by mjmeehan »

We all spend so much time here discussing building techniques and problem solving, it occurred to me that nobody talks about playing these things! I, for one, like to play my own guitars over any factory built model. Maybe they don't play as well, but hey, it's mine!

That being said, What do you folks play on these guitars you build?

I'm not a songwriter, or a skilled finger picker, I'm a Beater... banging out basic chords, simple bass runs, singing along, etc. I self taught at 17 on my Dad's old Harmony and a Bob Dylan songbook he had in the case(hippie!). We get together with others and play a lot of John Prine, Robert Earl Keen, Todd Snider, Old Crow Medicine Show, Mark Knopfler, Ray Wylie Hubbard, John Hiatt, Lyle Lovett and the sort. How about you?
naccoachbob

Re: The Music We Play...

Post by naccoachbob »

I'm mostly self taught also. I strum. Not good at picking much at all, even though someone taught me Wildwood Flower - I still can't get it right.
I love country. I've collected a number of .mp3's that I have in a folder on my computer, and strum along with them.
Conway Twitty, Vern Gosdin, Waylon Jennings, Hank Williams Jr, Travis Tritt, Dwight Yoakam, even 1 Dolly Parton song.
I found chords for them, or listened thru and picked them up by ear. I have the collection in Microsoft Word, and would be glad to share if anyone wants. Email me at coachbob@mail.com and I'll send you what I have.
My favorites are Take It Easy - Travis Tritt (Eagles song), Billy - Waylon Jennings, all the Conway, and I Will Always Love You - Dolly Parton.
I'm starting on Learn and Master Guitar, which is a very involved set of 20 dvd's on playing. Stuck on the 2nd session now, mostly due to baseball, golf, building, etc., but am about to get back into it. This session involves learning to read music, so it'll be slow.